In the Top 50 of the British Film Institute’s The 100 Greatest Films Of All Time

We shall build a tower that will reach to the stars!

A full screening with orchestra of the seminal film “Metropolis” by Fritz Lang, this 1927 silent masterpiece has, since its beginning, cried out for a musical score that could match and even enhance its staggering images and strong emotional themes. Here is a new performance version of “Metropolis”, a virtual “music video for film and orchestra” by Fritz Lang and Arnold Schoenberg. “This showed that if “Metropolis” responds well to good music, it emerges as an even richer work when set to great music.” (Washington Post Review)

Program Information

SCHOENBERG – Transfigured Night, Opus 4

SCHOENBERG – Chamber Symphony No. 1 in E Major, Op. 9, arr. Anton Webern

SCHOENBERG – Chamber Symphony No. 2, Opus 38

GRIEG – Holberg Suite, Op. 40

BARTÓK – String Quartet No. 1, Op. 7

BARTÓK – String Quartet No. 2, Op. 17



Production Credits

Producer: John Goberman

Running Time: 78 minutes


The producer wishes to acknowledge the contributions and extraordinary support of John Waxman (Themes & Variations)

A Symphonic Night at the Movies is a production of PGM Productions, Inc. (New York) and appears by arrangement with IMG Artists.


Flute 1
Flute 2 / Piccolo
Oboe 1
Oboe 2 / English Horn
Clarinet 1
Clarinet 2 / Eb Clarinet
Clarinet 3 / Bass Clarinet
Bassoon 1
Bassoon 2 / Contrabassoon


2 Horns
2 Trumpets


Strings (with Viola 1 + Viola 2 and Cello 1 + Cello 2)

Promotional Image Gallery

Book Metropolis Today

error: Content is protected !!